Oregon Booster Seat Law 2023


A car crash is the major cause of death of children in many states of the USA. As per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in 2020, almost 600  Children died in car crash who was just 12 years old and younger than that in the USA. It was also reported that almost 63,000 people were injured in 2020 due to car crashes. The major cause behind the death of children was that, in nearly 38% of cases, the kids were not properly buckled up to their seats. This causes the government to take strict action against such cases. Therefore, the government established Car seat safety Laws. In almost every state of America, the law is obeyed by the people. However, every state has its car seat safety law.

Child Safety Seat Law

As per the Oregon Car Seat Safety, if the kid is taller than 4’9” and weighs more than 40 lbs, they are eligible to sit on the booster seat. However, the seat must be elevated to fit the seat belt on the child properly. As per the requirements, people can take backless or high-back booster seats. To sit on the booster seat, the children should be more than eight years old. However, the weight and height limit also matter to sit on the backless seat. If the child is not taller than 4’9” and weighs not more than 40 lbs, then they should only sit on the back side of the car.

Suppose any of the rules that the government of Oregon governs is violated. The person would need to give a fine of $65. If multiple rules were violated, the fine could reach up to $250. Although, a presumptive fine is only $115. If any child is suffering from any medical condition, both mentally and physically, they are exempted from these rules. They don’t need to obey the rules. However, Oregon Transportation should issue an exemption certificate, and the parent should carry the certificate. The nurse practitioner, physician, and physician assistant sign the certificate.

Oregon Booster Seat Law 2023
Oregon Booster Seat Law

Rules for Child Safety Seat Law

  • Age: Below 8 years
  • Weight: 40+ pounds
  • Height: 4’9” or smaller than that
  • Penalty: $65 – $250

Car seat regulations

According to the Oregon car seat rules and regulations, if the passenger is below 8 years, weighs not more than 40 pounds, and has a height of 4 feet and 9 inches, they are restrained from sitting in the front seat. The infants are only required to ride in rear-facing seats till they reach the age of 2 years.

Age requirements for car seats

As per the booster seat law in Oregon, the child passenger is eligible to ride in the booster seat, also known as the forward-facing seat, until any of the following requirements are met:

  • Age: 8 years
  • Weight: 40+ (in pounds)
  • Height: 4’9”

If the child reaches the age of 8, they can use the seatbelt. However, it is recommended that the child remains in the booster seat till they reach the maximum upper limit of height regardless of the age of the children.

Height and weight limits for car seats

Children weighing over 40 pounds with ages more than 4’9” can sit on the forward-facing seat. However, the seat belt is the most, even sitting in the front seat. If any child does not meet the conditions mentioned, they cannot sit in the front seat. Even if the child is sitting in the booster seat, there should be a harness to protect the child from falling.

Using booster seats for children

Booster Seats are also known as child safety seats. These are designed to protect children from any injury during car crashes. A booster seat is a must inside the car if you have a kid who is not more than 4 feet and 9 inches and weighs less than 40 pounds. The booster sheet should be installed properly. As per the law, parents should always ensure that their child is properly buckled up during the trip. One major reason behind the severe car incidents is that the booster seat and car seat needed to be properly installed and used correctly, making them less effective.

Researchers have found that children riding in the car were estimated to use 46% of booster seats and car seats incorrectly. It resulted in reduced effectiveness. The major reason was the loose installation of car seats, a loose harness of a car seat, the incorrect reclining angle, the improper belt position, and the lap position. So, therefore, it increased the necessity of establishing a law that could decrease the rate of car accidents.

Proper installation of car seats

Installing the booster seat or any car seat is tedious and time-consuming. It could be challenging for those who have never done it before. The car seat must be secured perfectly in the vehicle. You can take help from the instruction book of the manufacturer. And the government has established various stations with technicians who are certified in child passenger safety and can help people in installing child per cent seats.

Nevertheless, it doesn’t mean you must get it done from the CPS. You can do it on your own as you want. The child seat can be installed or checked by the CPS. Here is the list of stations from which you can take help with car seat installation:

Steps for installation of Booster seats

For installing the booster seat, you need to use the latch system and bind it to the lower side of the seat. Use the anchor and seat belt for child restraint. Take the belt from the lower side of the neck and back, and keep the belt off the child’s stomach by lifting them.

Importance of car seat safety

Safety never comes with luck; you must take precautions and prepare yourself. If you are a parent, your priority should always be your child’s safety. By using the car seat for infants, you can save your baby from the probability of any accidents. The booster seat is considered the best protection for the baby when traveling. It decreases the probability of severe injuries during an accident. Nevertheless, it’s equally crucial to use the child seats correctly. Proper installation of a child or car seat is crucial because most people use them incorrectly.

A set of car seat safety rules have been implemented by many states, which is required to be followed. If anyone is found to be violating the rules, they might need to buy a huge amount of fine. Here are some tips which you can follow while using a booster seat:

  • If your child does not fulfill the requirement set by the Oregon state law, then you must carry a car seat for every trip.
  • Carefully check the manual instruction before installing the seat. This includes choosing the right kind of car seat which can fit perfectly in your vehicle and installing it safely.
  • The booster seat is always installed on the back side of the car, which means the backseat. The seat should be properly installed and tightly secured.
  • The harness should be wrapped around the children properly.
  • If the car seat is damaged, you should not use it.

Penalties for violating car seat laws

For not referring to the laws, the car’s occupant would have to pay the fees of penalties. The basic requirement includes wearing a seat belt if the child is not over 16. The Oregon Department of Transportation[5] needs to collect all the penalties on time.

Penalty Charges

  • Minimum: $65
  • Maximum: $250

Car seat recalls and safety ratings

The recall occurs when there is any damage or defect in the car, which can later become the major cause of injuries during accidents. Manufacturers of cars must order a recall if the product is found to be defective. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration is responsible for investigating the complaints if the defect is hard to prove or identify. These later led to car seat recall.

Tips for using the car seats

There are some important tips that you should be considered while using or selecting the car seat.

  • Safety harness: Look for the 5-point harness, which should be one for the shoulders, one for both thighs, and the last for the legs. This will properly protect the baby.
  • Easy Adjustments: Choosing if the car has adjustable harnesses and straps is always recommended. This is because not every kid’s size is the same. Some car seats consist of one-handed adjustment with buckles for quick release.
  • Easy cleaning: While looking for car seats, check whether the cover can be taken off from the seat or not. If the cover is detachable, it can be easily washed in the machine. Proper cleaning of the seat and other car components is important to maintain hygiene, especially when you have a child in your house.
  • Latch: These are attached to the car’s seat to enhance travel safety. It makes the process of installation easier and safer.
  • Comfort: The car’s seat should be well padded and installed with a head support to position the baby correctly. So that it does not create any impact on the growth of the child.

Being a parent takes work. But if you follow these tips while installing the booster seat, this will likely increase your child’s safety.

Must inspect your car seat before taking your child on it.

Exemptions to car seat laws (such as medical conditions)

if a person is not medically or physically fit, they are exempted from the car seat laws. However, the parent must contain the certificate issued by Oregon Transportation. The exemption certificate is always signed by the transportation, Director. For issuing the certificate, a formal report from the nurse practitioner, physician, or doctor is required, explaining the state of the child’s health. It’s mandatory to give the reason for not using the safety belt, safety system, or harness and how it can affect the child’s health. Check out this link here under “Safety Belt Exemption Form.” commercial vehicles such as taxis; cabs are also exempted.

Extension of car seat use beyond legal requirements

As per the law of child restraint, it is required that the children who are riding the vehicles can only use the approved devices, which include booster seats, car seats, and seat belts. It should be appropriate as per their age, height, and weight. This will help the children from any potential injury which make occur. Most programs are only meant for a short-term basis and are mostly advised through TV programs.

Effects of car seat laws on child passenger safety statistics

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention law, almost 638 people died due to car accidents under 12 years of age; in the whole of America, almost 127,603 children died due to motor vehicle injuries. But after Oregon adopted the car seat safety law, the number of kids killed or injured in accidents decreased. CDC reported that with the seat belt on, the rest of infants killed in car accidents were near; reduced to 71%. In the age group of 1 to 4, it was reduced to 54%. In the age group of 4 to 8, it was reduced to 45%.

Frequently Asked Questions

1.    Backless booster seat laws in Oregon

As per the law, children below the age of 8 can ride in the booster seat, but for more than four years, they can sit in the booster seat.

2.    Booster seat age Oregon

Children who are less than eight and smaller in height which is 4 feet and 9 inches, cannot sit in the booster seat in the state of Oregon.

3.    When can a child move from a car seat to a booster?

Children can ride in the booster seat if they reach more than 4 years of age.

4.   What is Oregon’s car seat law?

As per the Oregon car seat rules and regulations, if the passenger is below 8 years, weighs not more than 40 pounds, and has a height of 4 feet and 9 inches, they are restrained from sitting in the front seat.

5.    Can a 3-year-old sit in a booster seat?

They can only sit in the booster seat once they reach the age of more than five years old.

6.    When can my child sit in the front seat in Oregon?

To sit in the front seat, the child should be more than eight years old and weigh more than 40 pounds.

7.    How old do you have to be to sit in the front seat in Oregon?

The minimum age required to be able to sit in the front seat is 8 years.

8.    How tall do you have to be to sit in the front seat in Oregon?

A person’s height should be more than 4 feet 9 inches to sit in the front seat.

9.    What is the legal age that a child can sit in the front seat?

Legally the government has set an age limit of more than 13+.

About The Author

Hassan Zaka

I am an expert in accounting and have diverse experience in technical writing. I have written for various industries on finance, business, and technology. My writing style is clear and simple, and I use infographics and diagrams to make my writing engaging. I can benefit any organization needing technical writing services.

Follow Us:
My Cars Laws >> Seat Laws >> Oregon State >> Oregon Booster Seat Law 2023

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top