Booster seat requirements in Pennsylvania

This article focuses on booster seat requirements in Pennsylvania, U.S.A., for the child’s safety and protection until they reach a certain weight and height limit to sit in the car’s front seat. Moreover, it also features the proper placement and use of the booster car seat and tips to check if the seat is properly installed.

We will see the exception to the car seat law, which includes medical reasons and several other penalties associated with improper booster seat installation, along with the resources to find and install the car seat. for more on detail car laws guide on car seats in Pennsylvania.


Children who pass out the requirements for sitting in the car seat cannot directly sit on the front seat and cannot use the seat belt even if they convince their parents. Instead, it has been stated that the children should use a booster seat before they become eligible to sit in an adult car seat with a seatbelt that has been put on for safety.

The seat belt is only meant for adults and not children. As per the report, it has been found that children between the age group of 4-8 years should remain seated in the booster seat. This will save them from any injuries due to car crashes. In such cases, the chance of getting injured is reduced by 45%. Choosing the correct seat type of car seat is important for any parent. Even if there is a newborn child, they should be properly buckled up with the car seat. Once the child grows old, using the booster seat or car seat feels less important due to fewer requirements. But it’s important to understand that securing the child in the car seat is essential. So let us see the booster seat requirements Pennsylvania.

Booster seat requirements in Pennsylvania
Booster seat

Overview of Booster seat requirement in Pennsylvania

 Pennsylvania law states, “Children who age not more than 8 years must be buckled up with the child safety car seat or with the booster seat placed on the backside of the car.However, children who age more than 8 years, weigh more than 80 pounds, and height is not less than 57 inches can use shoulder or lap seat belts. Depending on the requirements, the booster seat is further divided into backless and high-back car seats. The best practice for car seat regulations pa that one can follow is to use the booster car seat as long as one can before one learns to use seat belts correctly.  It doesn’t depend on the children’s height, weight and age. Each car seat and vehicle is far apart from each other, so it is recommended to use the car seat belt.

Age and Size Requirements for Booster Seats

Pennsylvania law states, “Children who age not above 8, weigh less than 80 pounds, and height is not more than 57 inches are needed to be properly secured in the booster seat.” This is as per the standards issued by the U.S.A. Department of Transportation.

Choosing the right booster seat based on your child’s age and size

As we have seen, the above requirements must be followed by every parent towards their child’s safety. The NHTSA offers further recommendations depending on the child’s size and age.

  • Select the car seat depending on the size and age of the child and choose the car seat which fits in the vehicle properly and can be used every single time.
  • Keep the child in the back side of the car seat until they reach the age of 12.
  • Always refer to the manufacturer instructions provided with the car seat and go through the vehicle instructions manual to understand which size of the car seat can be properly installed inside the vehicle. It is important to learn how to use the car seat with the LATCH system and seat belt and check the weight and height limit.
  • To maximize the safety level keep the child inside the car seat as long as you can until the child can fit inside the car seat properly.

The above depicts the recommendation made by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for properly using the car seat. To know which seat should be used according to age, weight and height, you can check the car seat finderOpens In A New Window.

Proper Use and Installation of Booster Seat

Properly installing and using booster seat Pennsylvania is important for the child’s safety. There are two methods to secure the booster car seat properly: the LATCH and seat belt.

To start with the installation, it’s important to read the car seat manual first, which will give you an idea about the size of the car seat. After that, place the child’s safety car seat on the back seat. Once the seat is positioned, properly use clips for locking the car seat; once the installation process is complete, you can take the vehicle to the car inspection station to see if the car seat is properly installed.

Proper placement of booster seat in the vehicle

The booster seat is specifically designed based on the age and size of the children. For example, if you are carrying your child in a booster car seat and, unfortunately, you get through a severe truck accident, then at that time, the heavily padded seat will ensure that your child doesn’t meet with any injury. Additionally, the car seat will prevent the children from head injuries due to sudden falls. Other than that, it also protects the child from neck injury. Philadelphia car accident attorneys state that properly installed seat reduces the injury rate.

If your child exceeds the requirements to sit in the booster seat, some parents must remember to use the child safety seat entirely. This is the biggest mistake that most people do. It’s not quite less to say that the car seat, which is meant for children older than 12 years of age, provides more protection than the car seat with a seatbelt. Apart from a safety belt made for just an adult, the straps on the car seat are customized for the child.

Tips for ensuring proper booster seat use and installation

The first and most important step for correctly installing the child safety seat is going through the instruction manual of the child safety car seat. Along with this, it’s important to go through the vehicle manual also. PennDot offers to fund to 75+ fitting stations that are run by trained technicians who check whether the car seat is correctly installed. If you want to find the fitting Station, you should search for the NHTSA’s car seat inspection searches In A New Window. After that, you need to enter your state and city then you will find the certified child safety technicians.

Exceptions to Booster Seat Requirements

Certain exceptions in the Pennsylvania booster seat laws are mainly applied to children of age group 4 to 7 years old. One of the major exceptions is for children over 4 feet 8 inches and weighing more than 80 pounds. Exceptions to the Pennsylvania code are:

  • Children who have a certificate written by a physician which states that the child cannot wear a seatbelt or sit on the child’s safety car seat to certain medical or physical conditions.
  • Owner of the car, which was manufactured before the year 1966.
  • Taxi drivers or school bus drivers are also exempted from this Law
  • A person driving with frequent stops and having a speed of 15 miles/hr or less than that.

When a child can legally ride without a booster seat in Pennsylvania

Once the child outgrows the booster seat, they can ride in the car’s front seat, but using the car seat belt is mandatory while travelling. However, children under 12 should ride only in the child safety car seat allotted to them. If a person fails to follow the rules, they will be imposed a heavy fine and sometimes might need to pay the court cost. Preventive measures have been taken because the safety of children is important. If any children are injured due to a vehicle accident, the parents should contact the state attorney for help.

Exceptions for medical or physical reasons

Under any medical condition, if the child cannot use the car seat, they must carry the certificate duly signed by the physician and state authority whenever they travel.

Penalties for Not Following Booster Seat Laws in Pennsylvania

All drivers travelling with children aged more than 4 years and less than 8 years should take responsibility for restraining the children with a seatbelt. Moreover, the children must appropriately fit inside the booster seat. Violators will be stopped under the primary offence of non-compliance with the child passenger protection law for children aged between 4 to 8 years. The violators will be charged $75, plus they need to give the court cost, a surcharge of $45, ems fund of $10 and administrative cost of $10.

Resources for Finding and Installing Booster Seats

If you want to learn more about the pa booster seat guidelines or know how to start using the car seat, and want to know where to check if your car seat is properly installed or not. Therefore, this problem has only one solution: visiting the fitting stations. There are multiple Fitting stations across Pennsylvania which provide free services. The Fitting Station consists of technicians who will teach you about installing and properly using the car seat. If you want a Fitting Station near your area, please visit

State resources for finding the right booster seat for your child

Multiple resources are available online to choose the right booster seat, especially for your children. One major resource is the official website of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

  • Moreover, even look for the loaner program that Traffic Injury Prevention Project offers. Moreover, it is highly recommended that you should search based on your area.
  • Register your child’s safety car seat for the inspection.

So, in short, the most amazing way to protect your child is by using the right car seat for your child.

Tips for proper booster seat installation

The proper installation of the booster seat is important. This is to ensure the safety of your child. Here are some of the most important tips which you can follow for the proper installation of a Booster seat:

  • The belt in the harness seat must be tight so that it does not cause any problems while sitting.
  • Do not let your child wear bulky clothes, especially during the cold season. If required, the blanket or coat can be draped around the lap.
  • The strap must be below the child’s shoulders. This is during the rear-facing car seat. On the other hand, the belt must be above or at the child’s shoulder while sitting in the forward-facing car seat.

At last, ensure that you have registered your car seat to get the call for the recall.


Pennsylvania has certain law which is needed for the child’s safety while travelling in a motor vehicle. Children under the age of 8 use the car seat. It also depends upon the weight and height requirement of the child. Most children can only use the seatbelt properly if they reach the maximum weight and height limit. After the age of 8, they can start using the seatbelt.

Frequently Asked Questions

1.    Backless booster seat age Pennsylvania

At the time of transition from a forward-facing car seat to a high-back car seat, it occurs at the age of 4 to 5 years. However, once the child reaches age 6, they must shift from the high back car seat to a backless car seat.

2.   High back booster seat requirements pa

Once the child reaches 4, they can use the highway booster seat. This is because it keeps the neck in a straight position.

3.   What age can a child go in a car without a booster seat?

Once the child exceeds the minimum age of 8 years, they can sit inside the front seat of the car.

4.   When can my child ride without a booster seat?

A child can ride without using the booster car seat once they exceed the maximum height and weight limit required to sit without a booster seat.

5.   Is a booster seat OK for a 7-year-old?

Yes, a child under eight should use the booster seat.

You might want to see this:

Car seat law in Pennsylvania

About The Author

Hassan Zaka

I am an expert in accounting and have diverse experience in technical writing. I have written for various industries on finance, business, and technology. My writing style is clear and simple, and I use infographics and diagrams to make my writing engaging. I can benefit any organization needing technical writing services.

Follow Us:
My Cars Laws >> Seat Laws >> Pennsylvania >> Booster seat requirements in Pennsylvania

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top