Car Seat Laws in Utah – Front – Rear – Booster Seat Laws


Buckle Up Every Age, Every Seat, And Every Trip.

 Brief Overview of Car Seat Laws in Utah

Motor vehicle injuries are a primary cause of death among children in the United States, yet numerous of these deaths can be avoided. Always buckling children in age- and size-applicable car seats, booster seats, and seat belts minimizes serious injuries and mortality by over 80 percent

Using an auto seat is critical in protecting a child in the event of an accident, and it is also the law. Then there are numerous important Utah auto seat laws.

  1. Any youngster under the age of eight must use a child restraint device.
  2. Children must ride in an auto seat or booster seat until they are eight years old or reach a height of 4 feet and nine inches.
  3. Children should ride in the back seat until they are 13 years old.
  4. It is prohibited in Utah to leave a lonely child in a car if it jeopardizes their safety.

Overview of Car Seat Requirements in Utah

Here’s a table summarizing Utah car seat laws for front-facing, rear-facing, and booster seats:

Age Group Seat Type Position in Vehicle Additional Requirements
Under 2 years Rear-facing Rear seat Until they reach the height or weight limit of the car seat.
2 years and older Front-facing Rear seat Until they outgrow the car seat manufacturer’s height or weight requirements.
Under 8 years Booster seat Rear seat Must use a booster seat unless they are at least 57 inches tall.
8 years and older Seat belt Rear seat recommended Can transition to a seat belt if they pass the five-step test for proper fit.
Under 13 years Any car seat or booster Rear seat Children under 13 should always ride in the back seat when available.

1.    Requirements for infant car seats in Utah

Aged 0- 12 months, children must remain in a hinder-facing auto seat.

2.    Requirements for toddler car seats in Utah

  • Rear-facing auto seat: Aged 1- 3 years children need to remain in a rear-facing auto seat until they reach the height and weight limits of the auto seat which is generally age 2 – 3 years old. These seats include convertible, 3- in- 1 or other hinder-facing auto seats.
  • Front-facing auto seat: When the child outgrows the rear-facing car seat, they move on to a front-facing car seat. -Front-facing auto seats are classified as front-facing only, convertible, 3-in-1, and combination.

Children should use a front facing car seat until they outgrow the manufacturer’s height and weight restrictions.

3.    Requirements for booster seats in Utah

Age Height Requirement
Under 8 years old Child safety seat or booster seat
Under 8 years old At least 57 inches (4 ft 9 in) Vehicle lap and shoulder belt (without booster seat)
Always recommended: Use the back seat whenever possible

Additional points to remember:

  • Booster seats must be used with both the lap belt and shoulder belt, never with a lap belt alone.
  • Children are recommended to remain in a booster seat until they outgrow the size limits of the seat or are tall enough to fit properly in the seat belt, typically reaching a height of 4 feet 9 inches and meeting the safe belt fit criteria.
  • It is always safest for children to ride in the back seat of the vehicle whenever possible.

Booster seat:

Before transferring your child to a booster seat, always use your front-facing auto seat to the maximum height or weight limit. Always adhere to the manufacturer’s age, weight, height, and other guidelines

  • The Seat Belt: A child who is ready to use an adult seat belt without a booster seat is approximately 4′ 9′′ height. Please keep in mind that because children’s sizes vary by age, some children may still require a booster seat at the age of 10 or 11. Children must be restrained in an appropriate child safety restraint until they pass “The Seat Belt Fit Test.

Utah has the following criteria for backless booster seats:

No-reverse boosters are often used on youngsters weighing 40 to 100 pounds. Always refer to the manufacturer’s instructions for your booster seat’s height and weight requirements, as they may differ from seat to seat.

Utah Car Seat Laws: Front-Facing vs. Rear-Facing

Age/Weight Requirement
Under 2 years old Rear-facing child safety seat (regardless of weight or height)
2 years old and above Can transition to a forward-facing car seat only if the child meets all the following criteria:

* **At least 2 years old**

* **No specific weight requirement**
* **Outgrows the weight or height limits of their rear-facing car seat

1.    Requirement for Utah car seat laws rear-facing

A child under the age of eight must be fastened in an auto seat or supporter seat in Utah. 41- 6a-1803 of the Utah Code Ann. According to the Utah Department of Health, children should ride in a rear-facing car seat until they are two years old.

2.    Requirement for Utah car seat laws Front-facing

Children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing car seat unless they weigh 40 pounds. The child must be restrained in accordance with the height and weight limits set by the vehicle seat manufacturer.

Exceptions to Car Seat Laws in Utah

Explanation of certain circumstances where car seat laws may not apply:

  • Children with a medical ailment or physical disability may be exempt from child restraint
  • Seek the advice of a health professional who will determine the appropriate restraint for your
  • Children with disabilities or limited mobility can cause difficulties in safe motor vehicle journeys.
  • Allied health professionals (such as occupational therapists) can collaborate with families to  identify safe motor vehicle trip strategies, such as modifying a child restraint and recommending a child restraint accessory that defines a special purpose child restraint for children with Medical and allied health personnel must approve changes to a kid restraint.

Examples of exemptions to car seat laws in Utah

  • This law contains numerous exemptions: Children under the age of eight should travel in a properly adjusted seat belt and are exempt  from the booster seat law.
  • Children weighing more than 40 pounds who are passengers in vehicles with restricted sitting  positions and no shoulder belts should wear the lap belt low and snug on the hips.
  • Vehicles that are not required to have seat belts, such as motorcars and  pre-1967 cars, are exempted.
  • Unrestrained passengers are excluded from the law if all seating slots are occupied by other
  • A motor vehicle in which the driver or passengers receive written confirmation from a certified  physician that they are physically or medically unsuitable to use a seat restraint.

Penalties for Violating Car Seat Laws in Utah

Explanation of the consequences for violating car seat laws in Utah

If you or anyone in your vehicle is not properly restrained, the Utah Department of Public Safety may     give you a fine of 45$

NOTE When your child is between the ages of 8 and 12, it is appropriate to convert him or her from a booster  seat to a seat belt.

Explanation of fines and penalties associated with car seat violations in Utah

  • Babies and toddlers under the age of two must be restrained in a rear-facing car seat. Failure to comply with this law may result in a fine of up to $45.00.
  • Children between the ages of two and four must be restrained in a forward-facing car seat with a harness. Failure to comply with this law may result in a fine of up to $45.00.
  • Children aged five to seven must be secured in a supporter seat. Failure to comply with this law may result in a fine of up to $45.00. Children between the ages of eight and fifteen must wear a seat belt when riding in a motor
  • Failure to comply with this law may result in a fine of up to $45.00. 5. Children under the age of 13 must ride in the vehicle’s aft seat if one is available.
  • Failure to comply with this law may result in a fine of up to $45.00.

For Complete Penalties and Fines you can see this list.

It’s worth noting that these rules apply to all motor vehicles, including buses, exchanges, and SUVs. Furthermore, the laws require parents and carers to use car seats and booster seats that meet specific safety standards.

Penalties for breaking Utah’s vehicle seat legislation can range from fines to points on a driver’s license. In addition to the financial and legal ramifications, neglecting to properly strap a child in an auto seat or booster seat can result in significant injury or death in the event of a car accident.

Tips for Choosing and Installing Car Seats in Utah

Advice on choosing the right car seat for your child

Depending on your baby or child’s time and cargo, auto commands are divided into three major groups.

Car Seat Laws in Utah
Child Seat By Age in this Image

Group 0 Rear-facing auto commands are available for babies aged up to about 15 months or weighing up to 13 kg (29 lb.); some may be fitted into a buggy frame and are known as trip systems.

Group 1 – Reverse or fourth-facing commands are available for youngsters weighing 9-18 kg (20-40 lb.) or who have progressed from about 9 months to 4 times.

Group 2/3 – Reverse or forward-facing high-backed supporter commands are available for children weighing 15-36 kg (33lb- 5th 9 lb.) or who have progressed from 4 to 11 times.

You can also purchase combination instructions that cross these groups, comparable to group 0/ 1          commands, which are available from birth until your child weighs about 18 kg (40 lb) or is about 4 years old.

Use a forward-facing auto seat for as long as your child can fit into it, as these provide more security in the event of a   car accident.

Explanation of proper car seat installation technique

  1. Read the instruction primer for your car seat as well as the proprietor primer for your car seat.
  2. Pay particular attention to the details concerning your agent’s seat belt system and how to “unlock” the seat belt.
  3. Each seat is unique, which impacts the motorway where you’ll place your particular seat. Place the car seat base in your car’s back seat.
  4. Weave the seat belt precisely through the rear-facing belt path. Make sure there are no twists in the seat belt.
  5. Fasten your seat belt.
  6. Remove the seat belt.
  7. Firmly press down on the auto seat base and strain.
  8. The base should not be removed more than 1 point side to side or front to back.
  9. Ensure that your auto seat base is installed on the correct resting side.
  10. To keep the airway open, babies must ride semi-reclined.
  11. Maximum child auto commands have built-in pointers or adjustors to assist you.
  12. As your child develops, the side may need to be acclimated; thus, read the manufacturer’s directions carefully.
  13. Secure the baby carrier to the base.


  • When travelling in a passenger vehicle in Utah, children under the age of eight must be in an appropriate child safety seat or a booster seat.
  • The only exception to this rule is that children under the age of eight are not required to sit in a supporter seat if they are at least 57 cm height.
  • Motor vehicle accidents are the biggest cause of death among children in the United States,  although many of these deaths are preventable.
  • Buckling children in age- and size-appropriate car seats, booster seats, and seat belts prevents serious injuries and deaths by more than 80%.


What is the minimum age and weight for children to stop using car seats in Utah?

Children under the age of eight must ride in a supporter or a child safety seat while they are in a passenger vehicle in Utah.

The one exception to this rule is that if a child is at least 57 inches in height, they do not need to be in a booster seat.

What are the car seat requirements for children in Utah who have outgrown a car seat with a harness?

Under-8-year-olds must be properly strapped in a child safety seat or booster seat. An exception to the rule stipulates that if a child is at least 57 inches in height, they do not need to be in a supporter seat. They should then use the stage and the shoulder belts without assistance.

How much must a child weigh to be in a booster car seat?

In fact, even if your child is legally old enough to ride in a booster seat, they could not weigh enough to do so safely. Your youngster must be at least 40 pounds in weight to use a belt-positioning booster car seat.

When can a child stop use a booster seat in Idaho?

Idaho’s Child Restraint Statute: According to Idaho’s child passenger safety statute, any kid who is six      years old or less must be properly secured in a child safety restraint.

When Can a Child Sit In the Front Seat in Utah?

In Utah, it’s recommended that children should sit in the back seat until they reach the age of 13. it means that after the age of 13 a child can sit in the front seat. This is to ensure their safety, as the front seat can be dangerous due to airbag deployment.

About The Author

Hassan Zaka

I am an expert in accounting and have diverse experience in technical writing. I have written for various industries on finance, business, and technology. My writing style is clear and simple, and I use infographics and diagrams to make my writing engaging. I can benefit any organization needing technical writing services.

Follow Us:
My Cars Laws >> Seat Laws >> Utah >> Car Seat Laws in Utah – Front – Rear – Booster Seat Laws

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top