Car Seat Laws in Florida

This article will examine Florida’s car seat rules and laws to protect children. This law is only limited to being obligated in the streets and highways of Florida. The main purpose of implementing the car seat law is to protect children from injuries during car crashes. We will also see the various requirements to sit on the various types of car seats and look into the Penalties and Fines for car Seats in California.


As per the reports by CDC (Center for Disease Control), car crashes are the major cause of injury and death among the child in the states of US.A. Every year almost 1 million children die when they are involved in car accidents. As per the reports by FLHSMV, nearly 127,285 children died in car crashes in 2019. Anyone travelling with a child inside their car must understand the importance of car safety laws. This is to prevent any injury that might occur during a car crash. Whether you live in California, Florida, Hawaii or any other state you visit, you must comply with car seat laws. The city of Florida has its own set of car safety seat rules which are applied to all the citizens living in Florida. Going out on a trip or anywhere else inside your four-wheeler, it’s important to abide by the Florida car seat laws. The car seat rule or regulation is governed by section 316.613 of Florida. Here are some of the legal requirements under the car seat Laws Florida

  • Toddlers and infants from birth to age 3 must ride in a separate carrier or the child seat integrated by the manufacturer.
  • The children between the age group of 4 to 5 years must be in a separate carrier or the child seat or the booster seat.
  • Children who are more than 6 should continue using the booster seat or the seatbelt.

    If the parent or guardian does not obey the laws or violate any of the rules, they need to pay a fine of $60 with the three-point, which will be against the driver’s license. Even the court has the right to raise a point which will be sent to the person under the child restraint program. Now let’s understand each of the rules in much more detail.

    Forward-facing car seat laws in Florida

    According to the forward-facing seat loan in Florida. The child must remain in the rear-facing car seat placed on the backseat until they outgrow the car seat’s height and weight limit. Children who weigh at least 20 pounds and age more than one year can be shifted to the forward-facing seat placed on the car backseat.

    Florida car seat laws height and weight

    There is no specific weight and height limit for sitting in the forward-facing car seat. Still, the rear-facing car seat is recommended until the child reaches the maximum weight and height limit. To sit in the forward-facing car seat, the child’s height must be 40 inches, weighing at least 40 pounds.

    Rear Facing Car Seat Law in Florida

    The infant or the toddler should ride in the rear-facing seat until they reach one year and weigh more than 20 pounds. Once they outgrow the requirement of a rear-facing seat, they can switch to a forward-facing car seat.

    Florida car seat laws height and weight

    There is no specific weight and height limit to sit in the rear-facing car seat. It depends upon the car seat which you are going to use. Moreover, you can check the parameters set by the car seat manufacturer. But most car seat requires a height of fewer than 40 inches with a weight of 20 pounds to sit in the rear-facing car seat.

    Booster Car Seat Laws in Florida

    As per the Florida booster seat Law, the children can start using the booster seat once they reach the age of 4. Many experts believe that the child is prepared for the booster seat once they outreach the maximum height and weight limit for the forward-facing seat. It occurs when they weigh at least 85 pounds. Whereas the maximum height limit should be 35 inches. So before going to the booster seat, the child must fulfil all the requirements, including:

    • The child has outgrown the age and weight limit of the forward-facing seat.
    • The child must weigh around 40 to 80 pounds
    • The child should not sit facing towards the car seat.

    Booster seat height and weight

    The different types of seats have their weight limit. Similar to the case of the booster seat, the weight limits may vary mainly. It typically goes around 100 to 120 pounds. Not just the weight, height, and age also determine whether the child should go on the seat belt to the booster seat. To sit in the booster seat, the child should be at least 4 feet 9 inches and have more than 40 pounds.

    Car Seat Laws in Florida
    Car Seat Laws in Florida 2023 Updated

    Florida car seat laws for 7-year-old

    7-year-olds can choose between the booster seat or going on a front-facing seat with a seatbelt.

    Florida car seat laws for 6-year-old

    A child aged 6 can use either the booster seat or fasten up in the seat belt. Moreover, if they are less than 6, then they need to sit in the front-facing seat of the car.

    Florida car seat laws for 5-year-olds

    Children who are 5 or under the age of 5 must be securely placed in a crash-tested seat or federally Moreover restraint devices. Moreover, it recommended that children between the age group 4 to 5 must ride in separate carriers or forward-facing seats.

    Penalties and Fines for car Seats in California

    If the parent does not follow the car seat law and the children are not fastened up with the child’s safety car seat, there is a three-point penalty on the license with a fine. Attending the driving course is recommended to avoid such three-point penalties on the driving license. The car seat law is mainly implemented to be followed to protect the child and their wellbeing. If the child does not follow the car seat law properly, there is a fine of $60 and 3-point charges on the license. Moreover, the costs may increase with subsequent mistakes.

    Summing Up

    In conclusion, Florida’s child safety car seat states that children under 5 must sit in the child restraint device or the booster seat. Once they outgrow the maximum height and weight to sit in the booster seat, they can move to the car seat with only the seat belt. When the child reaches 6, they can be moved to the booster seat or some other car seat.  All these laws are implemented to protect your child from any neck or head injury which can happen during an accident. Putting the child in the right seat at the correct time can protect them from potential injuries. It has been found that if anyone does not comply with the law, they must pay a fine of $60.  

    Frequently Asked Questions

    The users of the car seat are raising certain queries:

    1.    What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Florida?

    As per the Florida Highway safety and motor vehicle, children between the age of 4 to 5 years should go in separate carriers or integrated child safety seats such as the booster seat. They should remain in the booster seat till they weigh more than 80 pounds and become taller than 4’9”.

    2.    Does a 5-year-old need a car seat in Florida?

    The Florida car seat law requires all children the age of 5 or under should be properly restrained in the crash-tested and federally approved car seat or child restraint system.

    3.    Does my 8-year-old need a booster seat in Florida?

    Children over six should remain in the booster seat or with a seat belt. But if they are the age of 8, then they can sit without the booster seat. But it is essential to use the seat belt even after becoming older than 8.

    4.    What happens if a child is not in a car seat in Florida?

    The laws in Florida are mostly lenient towards the people, but when it comes to the safety of the child, then it’s important to enforce some strict rules on the child, especially regarding the car seat law. The seatbelt law of Florida is referred to as the primary enforcement. In this Law, the police officer can give a citation or stop you if they see that you are driving the car without wearing a seatbelt. Law enforcement can become more strict if the child safety car seat law is not followed. If you do not comply with the requirements of the car seat law, then the officer will adhere to a charge of $60.

    The person will also lose at least three points in the driving record. So to again gain the point, the person might need to go back to take the driving course. The judge and court must provide approval for the course done by the person. However, it should also be approved by the Department of Highway, safety and motor vehicle. Florida law ensures the child’s safety so they won’t get hurt during accidents. Moreover, the judge and court will approve the course. It should be noted that the course must get approval from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

    5.    Can a child ride in a taxi without a car seat in Florida?

    There are very few exceptions to the child safety car seat law, as mentioned by the government of Florida on certain public transports. Some of which includes buses, planes, chauffeur and train. The option of chauffeur transport consists of the taxi services of Lyft and Uber. As per Florida laws, Uber drivers are exempted from following the law. They do not need to follow the rules of the child safety car seat law. The Lyft and Uber drivers have the right to decline the services provided to the parents or guardians who do not obey or abide by the child’s car seat. Also, they do not require to make any decisions.

    Earlier, Uber used to have the option for car seats, referred to as the UberFamily, specifically for the areas of Florida. In this program, the Uber cab used to come with a car seat pre-installed, creating a family-friendly environment that makes the parents feel safe while travelling. The car seat was only available for people living in the states of the U.S.A. Other than that, this service was only allowed in some states. There was another restriction also; while riding in the Uber, the parents can carry only one child, and they must weigh around 45 to 60 pounds.

    6.    When can a child sit in the front seat in Florida?

    The Florida car seat law does not require children to ride only in the car’s back seat. However, the instructions and rules which the manufacturer of the car seat specified did need the children to remain in the back seat till they were more than 12 years. This ensures they do not face any problems or injuries due to the airbags on the passenger front seat. But once the child reaches the age of 12 or their height is more than 4 feet and 9 inches and weighs more than 40 pounds, then only they can sit in the front seat.

    7.    Can a 3-year-old sit in a booster seat?

    As per the laws of Florida, children between 0 to 3 years must remain in the rear-facing car seat. So to sit inside the booster seat, the children should be at least 4 until the age of 8 they can use the booster seat. After that, the parents can move them to the car’s front seat. The driver and front passengers must use the seat belt even in the front seat.

    About The Author

    Hassan Zaka

    I am an expert in accounting and have diverse experience in technical writing. I have written for various industries on finance, business, and technology. My writing style is clear and simple, and I use infographics and diagrams to make my writing engaging. I can benefit any organization needing technical writing services.

    Follow Us:
    My Cars Laws >> Seat Laws >> Florida State >> Car Seat Laws in Florida

    Leave a Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Scroll to Top